
Right-to-Know Law Policy for 
The Joint State Government Commission (“JSGC”) 

Effective June 6, 2024 
 
Section 1.  Definitions. 

1. JSGC – Joint State Government Commission. 
2. RTK Law – Pennsylvania Right-to-Know Law, Act of Feb. 14, 2008, No.3. 
3. Legislative Record – as defined in Section 102 of the RTK Law. 
4. Office of Open Records – As established in Section 1310 of the RTK Law. 

 
Section 2.  Hours of Access. 
 The JSGC will be open for Right-to-Know Law access purposes from 9:00 a.m.-5:00 
p.m., Monday through Friday, except for official State holidays and other days the JSGC is 
closed by direction of the Executive Director of the JSGC. 
 
Section 3.  Contact Information. 
 Right-to-Know requests must be addressed to: 

Open Records Officer 
Joint State Government Commission 
Rm. 108, Finance Bldg. 
Harrisburg, PA  17120 
Fax:  717-787-4397 
Email:  jntst02@legis.state.pa.us 

 
Section 4.  Request Format. 
 Requests must be made in writing, must be clearly marked as a right-to-know request and 
must be submitted in person or by mail, email, or facsimile as follows: 

1. On a form prescribed by the JSGC 
2. In a manner such that requested material is described with sufficient specificity 
3. Anonymous requests will not be considered 
 

The JSGC Right-to-Know Law Request Form shall be made available on the JSGC website. 
 
 
Section 5.  Fee Schedule. 
 Except as otherwise provided herein, the following fees apply to requests for records 
responded to by the JSGC under the RTK Law: 

1. The fee for providing a hardcopy document is 25¢ per page. 
2. The fee for postage will not exceed actual mailing costs. 
3. The fee for redaction of a document is $1.00 per page. 
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4. The fees for (1) converting to paper a record only maintained in nonpaper media, and 
(2) offering enhanced electronic access to a record in addition to making the record 
accessible for inspection and duplication by a requester shall be established, as 
needed, in accordance with the RTK Law Section 1307(d) and (e), respectively. 

 
If Pennsylvania’s Office of Open Records charges a fee for providing a document of less than the 
amount(s) set forth above, the JSGC will charge the fee charged by the Office of Open Records. 
 
Payment arrangements will be made between the requester and the JSGC.   Under Section 
1307(h) of the RTK Law, if the total fee exceeds $100, payment must be made prior to the 
initiation of the providing of access to the document.  If prepayment is required, a check, 
certified check or money order shall be made payable to “Joint State Government Commission” 
in the total amount of the fee. 
 
Section 6.  Response Schedule. 
 Section 901 of the RTK Law states, “The time for response shall not exceed five business 
days from the date the written request is received by the open-records officer for an agency.” The 
JSGC determined that the day count shall commence with Day 1 upon the opening of business 
on the first business day following receipt of the request.  
 
Section 7.  Appeals. 
 If a written request for access to a record is denied or deemed denied, the requester may 
file an appeal within 15 business days of the mailing date of the JSGC’s response or within 15 
business days of a deemed denial. The appeal shall state the grounds upon which the requester 
asserts that the record is a legislative record and shall address any grounds stated by the JSGC 
for delaying or denying the request. 
 
Appeals to RTK responses must be addressed to:  

Suellen M. Wolfe, Associate Counsel 
Legislative Reference Bureau 
Room 641 Main Capitol Building 
501 North Third Street 
Harrisburg PA 17120-0033 
717 787 6528 
swolfe@palrb.us 
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